John & Patrick

John and Patrick - Profile Image

John & Patrick

John grew up in Maine and Wyoming. After college he was a pre-school teacher in San Francisco for a few years. He is now a lawyer for the government. Patrick is Canadian but grew up around the world because his parents were in the foreign service. He was a camp counselor for many summers which was his favorite job ever. He has worked in finance for a large international bank since graduating from college. Mila is our 6 year old daughter. She is very eager for a little sister or brother. She loves puzzles, cartoons, books, stuffed animals, playgrounds with slides, mermaids, unicorns, fairies, and the movies Frozen and Moana.

Patrick and John met at the beach in the Summer of 2001 and have been together ever since. We officially got married in March 2018. We didn't want a big wedding so we eloped at City Hall. The only witnesses were Mila and a friend who took our photos.

Patrick has a small family - a mother and sister. John has a large family - 2 sisters, 2 brothers, 3 nieces, 2 nephews, mom, dad, stepmom, and about 30 cousins because his parents have 5-6 siblings each.

Basic Info


John


Age: 53

Race/Ethnicity: White

Religion: Methodist/Inactive

Education: Juris Doctorate

Profession: Attorney


Patrick


Age: 49

Race/Ethnicity: White

Religion: Catholic/Inactive

Education: International MBA

Profession: Finance

Contact Us

Environment


Country: USA

State: New York

Environment: Urban

Residency: Apartment/Condo

Square Footage: 1,700 sq. ft.

Children in Home: Yes/6-year old

Relationship: Married since 2018

Years Together: since 2001

Sexual Orientation: Gay Couple


Post Adoption Contact


Periodic Pictures and Updates

or

Open Adoption with Some Visitation


Preferences for a Child


Age: Newborn to 1-year

Gender: Either

Race/Ethnicity: Any


Contact Us

Our Extended Family


In the summer, we go to our beach house on Fire Island almost every weekend. Mila loves swimming in the pool, Patrick gardens, and John plays a lot of beach volleyball. We all like relaxing on the beach and going for long walks.

We have friends that visit us at the beach and in New York City. Some have kids that are Mila's age, some have older kids (which she adores), and some just love hanging out with Mila playing games, dancing, and being silly.

As a family, we like to travel, go to restaurants, and explore kid-friendly museums, find new playgrounds, attend birthday parties, or just visit friends. We all love singing along to music, especially in the car, and having "dance parties" at home.





Contact Us

Photos


« 1 of 2 »

From Us to You


We were so honored when Mila's mom chose us to be Mila's parents. We have a relationship with Mila's biological family that her mom felt most comfortable with. We have a Facebook account where we post photos and videos of Mila every few months which are only viewable by her biological mom, dad, their parents, and a great grandmother. Her mom and us text each other with updates and check-ins.

In New York City, we live only a couple blocks from Central Park which is filled with playgrounds and things to explore and do. We are also only 5 blocks from Mila's school, the Lycée Français. John walks Mila to school each day. Patrick grew up going to this school in other cities. We wanted Mila to go there because they provide an amazing education and teach multiple foreign languages. She is already fluent in French. Mila has taken ballet, swimming, art, karate and other after-school classes.

We have a lot of love and laughter as a family. We would very much like to adopt another child. If you want to make us part of your adoption plan we would be very honored.


John & Patrick


Contact Us